Collaboration is a Tradeshift key feature that makes it easy for users to collaborate across the platform. It requires no configuration and enables users to collaborate on documents and products/services both internally (within the same organization) and externally (between organizations). Collaboration works with all products, services, and document types on the platform, allowing multiple users to comment and work together on any of these, in real-time.



The main benefits of the Collaboration Configurator app in Tradeshift:



  • Enables a single channel of communication for all the users performing a specific business scenario.
  • Reduces and potentially eliminates the need to use traditional communication channels, such as email, phone, internal chat applications.
  • Promotes more efficient and meaningful conversations, as they happen within a context (collaboration on documents, products & services). No need to provide links, print-screens to add context to the conversation. The information is already there, available to both parties.
  • Better tracking and audit trail. Everything is tracked and timestamped.



Key features that facilitate Collaboration on Tradeshift 



Configuration of email digest categories





This feature is important as it will help limit the amount of incoming collaboration-related emails.



By default, users receive grouped updates from conversations in which they are involved. To change this setting, select Grouped subject, and then click the Save digest configuration button. Individual emails will be sent for different subjects (documents, offers, marketplace). 



Configuration of the email digest frequency



The company admin can configure the frequency of the email digest received by the company users. By default, users receive digest emails on an hourly basis.



To configure the digest frequency:



  • Click the Digest frequency box.
  • On the Digest frequency menu displayed, select frequency needed. Options: Every 5 Minutes, Hourly, Daily, Weekly, Monthly. 
  • Click the Save digest configuration button.


Note: The email digest frequency does not apply to the update received when a user is added to a conversation, which is a separate instant notification.



Default participant configuration in Configurator



Connection groups are a long-standing feature in the Tradeshift platform and exist to allow companies to categorize their suppliers into different groups.



The groups are not pre-determined by Tradeshift and can be customized according to the needs of each company. Common examples would be to use connection groups to differentiate between those suppliers who can invoice without having first received a Purchase Order and those who cannot, or to distinguish domestic suppliers from overseas ones.







For external conversations (between buyers and sellers), it is possible to set up default participants on the receiving side, i.e. users who will always be added automatically to any conversation started by an external user. Default participants are set up in groups by the buyer admin, and multiple groups are allowed. For example, a European group can be set up so that all members of a company's European procurement team are automatically added to all the conversations initiated by the European sellers. 



The rule for default participants is set up in Collaboration Configurator, in the Collaboration tab.



To set up a rule for how to add default participants to external conversations perform the following actions:



In the Collaboration tab of the Collaboration Configurator app, which can be accessed by users with the Company admin role, from the Messages app, click Add default participants in the Default participants section.A side panel will open.

Under Title, enter the title of the group of default participants you are about to create.



  • Click Connection groups, and select the connection groups for which default participants should be added to external conversations. 
  • Click Conversation subjects, and select the conversation subjects (e.g. document types) for which default participants should be added to external conversations.
  • Click Participants, and select the default participant(s) you wish to automatically include in external conversations.



Note: the predictive search field displayed in Participants helps you refine the search. 



Click Save, at the bottom of the side panel. The rule is added, and you return to the main screen. 



The users selected under Participants in step 5 will now be automatically added to any conversation initiated by a company in any of the groups selected under Connection groups.



Automated responses



As a supplier or a buyer, when the other company contacts you, it is not always possible to respond immediately, though the default participant(s) is invited and notified by email and other in-app notifications. The automated response feature allows companies to compensate for this by allowing a company to configure a response message beforehand, which will be delivered to the sender immediately after they send the first message. 



Examples of automated responses:



Today is a public holiday, we will reply, with priority tomorrow.

For payment-related queries, please reach out ap@company.com.



Automated responses are configured in the Collaboration tab of the Collaboration Configurator app, and can only be edited by admin users. Automated response messages can contain text and hyperlinks.







To set an automated response:



  • Fill in the Add welcome message field of the Welcome message section. 
  • Click the Save message button.



The message set on the master branch is inherited by all the subordinated branches. It is not necessary to set up the automated response on each branch manually, as long as the message is the same. 



When starting a conversation, users from external companies receive the automatic message, which looks slightly different from the regular message body, to make a clear distinction between the two. 



Collaboration in the App Store app



Only admin users have the right to activate apps in App Store, which means that, to get the apps they need to be activated, the non-admin users need to contact admins, request app activation, and wait for a response. Therefore, this feature was created to optimize the access of the Tradeshift platform non-admin users to apps available in the App Store app.



Collaboration in App Store for non-admin users



If you are a non-admin user, here are the steps to have your app activated:

Go to the App Store app using the app launcher. The App Store page displays a message at the top, informing you that only company admins can activate or deactivate apps.



  • Use the search field to find the app you want to have activated.
  • Click the Request button below the app icon of the app you want to be activated. 
  • When you click Request, the Conversation panel opens, displaying your activation request. Fill in the Reason for this request field, which is mandatory.
  • Click Send.



Your activation request has been sent to the company admin. When the admin activates your app from their conversation panel, the following message is displayed in your conversation panel: Automatic response: The app is now activated on your account. 



Collaboration in App Store for admin users



If you are an admin user, here is how you activate an app upon request:



When a non-admin user sends a request for app activation, you receive a notification in your platform inbox, as well as an email notification. For details about your inbox notifications, go to the Collaboration notifications chapter. For details about your email digest settings, go to the Email notification support chapter.



Expand the app launcher, and click the activation request message in your inbox. The Conversation panel opens, displaying the activation request. To finalize the process, click Activate. 



When you activate an app upon request, an automatic message is displayed on the conversation panel, notifying you that the app is now activated on their account.